• Sign in
  • Contact
  • Payments
  • Search


Officers and Directors

Christopher Clarke, Chairman NDA Dist.; Dip Fm.

Chris has been involved with BASIS since 2007. Initially, he was the Independent Chairman of the Logistics Committee; in 2010 he took up the role of Treasurer and has chaired the Board of Trustees since early 2013. Chris has spent a lifetime in agriculture and since 1970 worked in the crop protection industry with UK, European and Worldwide responsibilities. Before retiring in 2007, Chris was Chief Operating Officer Worldwide of Bayer Crop Science’s Professional Products Business.

Margaret E May, Vice Chair & Honorary Treasurer BSc, MPhil

Margaret is the independently appointed Treasurer for BASIS. She retired in May 2012 having held a wide range of Director level positions within subsidiaries of Sanofi and its predecessor companies gaining extensive experience at European and Global levels.   Budgeting and financial control, as well as strategic and business planning, has been integral to many of these roles in both crop protection and animal health.

Susannah Bolton, FACTS Chairperson

Susannah is the independent Chair of the FACTS Management Committee. She is Head of Research and Knowledge Transfer for the Cereals and Oilseeds division of AHDB. She has responsibility for managing a large portfolio of R&D projects and associated knowledge exchange activities, including the production and publication of the Recommended Lists of crop varieties. Prior to joining AHDB she was based at Rothamsted Research in Hertfordshire where she was responsible for the development of international research and science communication and knowledge transfer activities. She has doctorate in tropical agronomy and spent three years working at an agricultural research institute in Brazil. 

Tom Bradshaw 

Tom is the nominated representative of the NFU and is the managing partner in a 160ac family farm in Essex. He is a Wye College graduate from 2003 having studied Agricultural Business Management and is also BASIS and FACTS qualified. In 2012 Tom completed a Nuffield Scholarship. The home farm is based around a large equestrian diversification with 70 stables which was set up in late 2004 when the dairy herd was sold. The main arable business is 3100ac of whole farm contracting growing combinable crops within a 20 mile radius of the home farm.

Outside of the farm Tom has roles in the local and regional NFU being Chairmen of the East Anglia Crops board and sitting on the National Crops board. 

David Cairns

David is an elected member representing the distribution sector. He is Agrochemical Director for Simpsons Malt Ltd responsible for agrochemical purchase and marketing as well as being the main technical backup to the agronomy team. David holds a BASIS Diploma in Agronomy and is a BASIS examiner. He is very keen to promote professional standards within the industry.

Geoff Dodgson BSc (Hons), FCIM, FRAgS

Geoff is the independently appointed chairman of the BASIS Professional Standards Committee and previously chaired the FACTS Committee. He has spent his working life in the agriculture and the foodchain as a marketer and journalist. Today, he runs Dodgson Consulting advising a number of leading agricultural and food businesses on marketing strategy, communications and reputation management. He lectures regularly on crisis and reputation management. 

Sabra Everett 

Sabra is the independently appointed Chairperson of the PROMPT Committee. She has worked within the pest control industry for 22 years and is a recognised figure throughout Europe and America. Sabra sits on the National Pest Advisory Panel (advisers to the Chartered Institute of Environmental Health); is Vice Chairperson of the National Pest Technicians Association; and a founder member of Professional Women in Pest Management in the UK.

Steph Melrose

Steph is an elected member representing the distribution sector. She has worked in crop protection since 1983 for UAM, Cargill and Banks Cargill. Today, she works for Frontier and is involved with storage, logistics, BASIS Professional Register, as well as BASIS exams and training for the company’s agronomists and storekeepers.

Richard Fenwick

Richard is the independently appointed Chairman of the BASIS Education and Training Committee and also acts as an examiner for a range of BASIS examinations.  For over 30 years he worked at NIAB, Cambridge on the evaluation of cereal, oilseed and pulse crop varieties for National and Recommended List purposes.  On taking early retirement in 2004 he set up as an agricultural consultant specialising in advice on combinable crop seed and varieties. He also spent 10 years as a Farm Assurance assessor and currently sits on the RPA Independent Agricultural Appeals Panel. He is a keen gardener, vintage machinery enthusiast and amateur thespian.

Professor John Moverley OBE, MA (Cantab), FRAgS, FIAgE

John is a nominated trustee representing the amenity sector. He has worked in the private, public and charitable sectors including some 20 years at Chief Executive level. He was Principal and CEO of two land based colleges and a Pro Vice Chancellor at De Montfort University. Current roles include being the Independent Chairman of the Amenity Forum. John runs his own consultancy and research business.

Andy Richardson

Andy is the independently appointed Chairman of the BASIS Logistics Committee. He has recently retired after a 33 year career with Simpsons Malt, he was appointed Sales Director of their merchanting division in 1989 and has been Operations Director since 2009, responsible for all activities related to Fertiliser, Agrochemicals, Grass Seed and Feeding, covering production, technical and sales. He has a strong commercial background in all aspects of Merchanting, from farm trading to senior management of a merchanting business. He is a Chartered Director and is BASIS and FACTS registered.

Stephen Jacob Chief Executive Officer

Click here

Chris Sprigg

Chris is an elected member representing the distribution sector. Currently employed as Head of Logistics for Agrovista UK Ltd having worked in crop protection product storage and distribution for over 30 years. A qualified Dangerous Goods Safety Adviser, a Chartered member of the Institute of Safety and Health (IOSH), Chair of the AIC Logistics and Packaging group and former member of the BASIS MDAC.

Peter Taylor BSc (Hons)

Peter represents the Association of Independent Crop Consultants on the BASIS Board. Since 1982 he has held the role of independent agronomist to the Samco buying group in Hertfordshire, Essex and South Cambridgeshire. Peter has been Chairman of AICC twice over the years and is currently Executive President. He has also been a member of the HGCA Cereals Committee for six years. 

Charlie Wright 

Charlie is the nominated member from the Agricultural Industries Confederation.  From a Lincolnshire family farm, Charlie  has spent his whole career in agriculture holding positions in field trials, on-farm agronomy, regional technical management and senior commercial management roles.  He joined Hutchinsons in 2015 as Sales Manager, with specific responsibility for the entire agronomy team and the product groups that they advise on. Charlie holds BASIS, FACTS, BETA and PPA.  Charlie has also been a BASIS Examiner.  Charlie is a member of AIC’s Agronomy and Crop Protection Communications Group.

Sarah Mukherjee

Sarah is the nominated Board Member for the Crop Protection Association 


BASIS Registration Ltd

St Monica's House, 39 Windmill Lane,
Ashbourne, Derbyshire DE6 1EY
T: 01335 343945
F: 01335 301205
E: help@basis-reg.co.uk

BASIS is a registered charity (No. 1077006) and a
company limited by guarantee registered in England (No. 1365343)